Chic DIY: Terra Cotta Transformation

Terra Cotta Pot Edit

Today I wanted to show you a quick & easy DIY to makeover your standard terra cotta pot. The terra cotta pot was free as I got a succulent from ProPlants a while back. You can also purchase cheap terra cotta pots from the dollar store.

I was looking for a creative way to incorporate the chalkboard paint I used for the wedding. I recommend Martha Stewart Crafts: Multi-Surface Chalkboard Acrylic Craft Paint in the color Tableau Noir. I think I got this at Michaels.

Chalkboard Paint Edit

Simply take the terra cotta pot and paint it. I did two coats to get the dark chalkboard look. Let dry for an hour and voila you’re done! I tied a piece of black and white bakers twine around the top for some contrast. I repurposed my revamped terra cotta pot to hold utensils when I entertain, but the possibilities are endless. There you have it, a simple & chic DIY with a $0 price tag!

I saw some other ways to jazz up terra cotta pots on Pinterest. Check them out below!

Colorblock Terra Cotta Pots_A Beautiful Mess

Color Block Terra Cotta Pots via A Beautiful Mess

Gold Lead terracotta pots

Gold Leaf Terra Cotta Pots via Happy Solez Organics

Message Flower Pots

Message Terra Cotta Pots via Inspirations by D

Styling Note: I love how you can personalize this Message Terra Cotta Pot! This would be a creative and affordable gift idea. You could incorporate a fun quote or saying.

How would you style your terra cotta pot?

Stay Chic, Suzy

4 thoughts on “Chic DIY: Terra Cotta Transformation

Leave a Reply

